top of page
Search

My Shot | Jonathan Elliott

 

Throughout the last couple of years, I’ve found some of my strongest passions to be graphic design and floor hockey. Because of a school project, I had the opportunity to combine both of these things. The goal was to display the geometry of natural movement, and after a photoshoot with my friends, I got to work and followed instructions from numerous sources to create the geometric effects around my subject. As a result of being a hockey player for the past 8 years, I’ve learned a lot about the important contact and force exertion points on the body to get the best results for different situations and moves. I made sure to have those represented by the different points of the quadrilateral shape, along with the other shapes around the subject. The numbers inside the circle (91.65) isn’t an angle of any corner on the piece, rather it's a commemoration to my two favourite hockey players, who each respectively wear the numbers #91 and #65 on their jerseys. Within a couple of weeks, I was able to expand my Photoshop knowledge and skills and complete a piece I’m proud of. I believe this follows the theme of “Resilience” because of my personal journey through my growth in the sport, as well as what’s expressed and represented in my piece. My growth in the sport has been slower than a lot of my teammates throughout the years, and I’ve faced a lot of negativity as a result of it. As one of my biggest outlets, it’s hard to feel free of my problems and worries when there’s challenges and toxicity inside of the actions and experience. Hockey started to become a draining commitment, and one I didn’t feel like I was good enough to be part of. Throughout the years, due to what I’ve learned and the person I’ve grown into outside of the sport, I’ve learned to take the criticism and turn it into effort. Floor hockey is a sport that takes a lot of effort, and whether there’s results shown on the scoresheet or not, I have always given my all in every shift. While there’s still much growing and improvement left to discover in my skill set, I’m happy to have commemorated the turning point in my journey where instead of giving up and giving in to self-doubt, I pushed forward and still continue to do so. My piece represents perseverance in the face of adversity, determination, and resiliency in spite of those who might not believe in myself or my abilities.


Socials

Instagram: @jon.takes.photos


Portfolio

https://portfolioasiasumas.wordpress.com/portfolio-jonathan-elliott/









7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page