top of page
Search

Zombie Skin | Ashley de Kroon


I’ve started a self-portraiture journey to explore myself in an intimate and interesting way. When using my face, I can explore different angles and match the expression I want to portray. I capture the intensity of emotion rather than focusing on painting an incredibly detailed and beautiful portrait. There is no need to blend the paint when I can make big, bold brush strokes. I am most interested in the relationship between emotion and expression, which involves much more than the eyes or mouth. It’s a contortion of the body as a whole.

The meaning behind this piece is over-analyzing yourself and feeding into your insecurities, and the resilience you need to keep going. Being uncomfortable in your own skin and constantly picking yourself apart is taxing, and it takes great courage to move on and overcome those feelings.


Oil on Canvas Panel Collage


Socials:

Instagram: @k.emberart

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page